Our Board of Directors combines global expertise in all aspects of the development and financing of greenfield resource projects

Board of Directors

Russell Scrimshaw

Chris Fraser
Managing Director and CEO

Keith Clarke CBE
Non-Executive Director

Noel Harwerth
Non-Executive Director

Russell Scrimshaw was formerly an Executive Director and Deputy CEO of Fortescue Metals Group Ltd and was a member of the FMG Board from 2003 until 2011.

Previously Russell Scrimshaw was a board member of Commonwealth Properties Ltd, EDS Australia, Mobilesoft Ltd, Telecom New Zealand Australia Pty Ltd, The Garvan Institute Foundation and Athletics Australia and has also held senior executive positions within the Commonwealth Bank of Australia, Optus Communications Pty Ltd, Alcatel, IBM and Amdahl USA.

In addition he is an Associate Member of the Australian Society of Certified Practicing Accountants, an Adjunct Professor of Mining Economics at China Central South University in Changsha, China and a non-executive director of ASX-listed Cleveland Mining Company Limited.

Russell Scrimshaw was appointed as non-executive Chairman of Sirius Minerals in November 2011 and is a member of the Remuneration Committee and the Nominations Committee.
Chris Fraser has approximately 16 years' finance experience in the mining industry. During this time he worked for Citigroup, Rothschild and KPMG and has market leading expertise in all aspects of the financing and development of major mining projects. Having joined Citigroup in 2000, Chris Fraser was appointed Head of Metals and Mining Investment Banking for Australia in 2006 and Managing Director in 2008.

In these roles he led the bank to become one of the leading investment banking franchises in the mining industry in Australia. In particular he was the lead adviser on the US$2.5 billion initial development capital financing for Fortescue Metals Group Ltd (FMG). He has provided strategic advice to many of the world's leading mining companies including BHP Billiton, Rio Tinto, WMC Resources and Paladin Energy.

In 2009 Chris Fraser founded Sigiriya Capital, a specialist advisory and investment house focused on the resources sector. In 2010 he founded York Potash Ltd to undertake the exploration and development of the York Potash Project and in January 2011 York Potash was acquired by Sirius Minerals.

Chris Fraser holds a Bachelor in Commerce from the University of Western Australia. He is a qualified Chartered Accountant and a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia. In addition, he is a Senior Associate of the Financial Services Institute of Australia (FINSIA) and a member of the Institute of Company Directors in Australia.

Chris Fraser joined the Board in January 2011.
Keith Clarke was Chief Executive Officer of WS Atkins plc, the UK’s largest design and Engineering Consultancy for eight years to July 2011 and previously held CEO roles with Skanska UK and Kvaerner Construction Group. He also acted as Director of Sustainability and Chairman of Atkins’ Middle East business until April 2012.

He is Chair of Trustees for Forum for the Future, Non-Executive Director for Engineering UK, Future Cities Catapult and the British Standards Institute, Vice President of the Institute of Civil Engineering and adviser to both Infrastructure UK and the Government of Qatar.

Keith Clarke joined the Board in December 2013.
Noel, whose executive background was in international banking was formerly COO and Chief Tax Officer of Citibank International. Noel is also a highly experienced non-executive director who has sat on a number of boards in a variety of different sectors, including mining and finance industry companies and will bring with her a wealth of background and understanding in mining, finance and governance issues.

Noel Harwerth joined the Board in July 2015.

John Hutton
Non-Executive Director

Jane Lodge
Non-Executive Director

Stephen Pycroft
Non-Executive Director

Lord Hutton was a distinguished member of the Government for 13 years from 1997 to 2010, including 11 years as a Minister and four years serving on the Cabinet. He was appointed Chairman of the Independent Public Service Pensions Commission established by the current Government in June 2010, which delivered its final report in March 2011.

Lord Hutton was a legal adviser to the Confederation of Business Industry in the late 1970s before becoming a senior law lecturer at Newcastle Polytechnic. In 1992 he was elected to the Barrow and Furness seat in Cumbria where he remained as MP until he stood down at the 2010 general election.
During Lord Hutton's varied career in Government, he served first as a Permanent Parliamentary Secretary in the Department of Trade and Industry before becoming Leader of the House of Commons and then moving to the Department of Health in 1998 where he became Minister of State for Health in 1999, a position he held until 2005.

In 2005 Lord Hutton was briefly appointed Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster and Minister of the Cabinet Office before being made Secretary of State for Work and Pensions. In 2007 Lord Hutton was appointed Secretary of State for Business, Enterprise and Regulatory Reform. In 2008 he became Secretary of State for Defence until he stepped down from the Cabinet in 2009. Following the general election in 2010 he was created a life peer as Baron Hutton of Furness and now sits in the House of Lords.

Lord Hutton joined the Board in January 2012. He is Chairman of the Remuneration Committee.
After an academic background in Geology, Jane’s executive career was primarily in accountancy, where she became a partner at Deloitte. Her roles included Deloitte’s Midlands Practice Senior Partner and Lead Partner for the National Manufacturing Industry. As Manufacturing Industry Leader, she represented the UK on the Deloitte Global Manufacturing Industry Executive and was a member of the CBI Manufacturing Council.

During her 35 year career with the firm, she advised multinational businesses in the construction, financial services, manufacturing, property and house building sectors. Jane was the first woman partner in Deloitte to be appointed to the UK Board of Partners. Since 2012 Jane has served as a non-executive director on a number of publicly listed companies, including construction based companies, and she brings with her a wealth of experience, particularly in relation to financial governance and audit oversight.

Jane Lodge joined the Board in July 2015.
Stephen Pycroft is Executive Chairman of Mace, a leading international consultancy and construction company. Having joined Mace in 1993 and been appointed a Group Board Director in 1995, Stephen was appointed Chief Operating Officer before taking over as CEO at the end of 2004 and Chairman in 2008.

Stephen has led Mace to achieve phenomenal growth with turnover increasing from £90 million in 2001 to £1.1 billion in 2012. Under Stephen’s leadership Mace has evolved into an international consultancy and construction group, with a reputation for quality and delivery, employing over 4,000 people worldwide. Stephen’s experience includes delivering some of the UK’s most iconic projects, most notably The Shard, the London Eye and the 2012 London Olympic and Paralympic village. Mace recently secured the contract for preliminary works for Battersea Power Station.
View Management Team

Annual Report
Annual Report ended 31 March 2015


Page last updated: 9 March 2015